Please take a seat

The inside of the cab is pretty small, especially in comparison to the average truck on the road today. I was a little surprised at how full it was, with things that had no business being there. The gas tank behind the seat seemed like a silly choice for placement of a container full of flammable fumy liquid. Whatever, that’s how they used to roll.

There are parts of the cab interior that are made of steel, I guess for support or whatever, but they make it tough to clean when they fill up in behind the metal panels with mouse turds and other biologicals. My shop vac definitely did a lot of sucking that day.

The bench platform seemed like it should have had something in it, but I can’t imagine it would have been very easy to access if the bench seat was in place. Hopefully it dawns on me why this bench sized bowl is welded into place on the floor before I decide to remove it.

Got a lead on a potential donor vehicle, my buddy Dave’s got a sister who wants to sell an ’05 Astro Van. Not exactly made for this, but the wheel base is just about exactly the right size, so that’s a good sign.

Leave a comment