Electrical upgrades

Sometimes you gotta forego the standard old fix ups when it comes to fun projects like this. I ordered a set of LED headlights and my buddy Mike figured out how to match them up to the 2004 Chev electrical system with a series of relays to convert the negative ground switched lights and signals. It was up to me to figure out why the dash wasn’t controlling them properly, but before too long I had traced all the bad grounds and everything came together for a moment.

When you are eliminating electrical issues, sometimes solving one problem only illuminates another (punny, yeah?) so it became a cascade of finding and solving bad grounds. My wife has taken to calling the truck my “mistress” for all the time I’ve spent turning her on.

However, I persisted. And I even built an adapter panel to convert the 7″ gauge holes to hold the smaller-circumference gauges that I ordered from speedhut and they look pretty fancy.

Next: some stereo work.

Leave a comment